ASURA 2017 Speakers

International Speakers:


Professor Edward Mariano


Dr. Mariano is a Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine.  His research interests include the development of techniques and patient care pathways to improve postoperative pain control and other surgical outcomes, and he has published over 100 research articles and book chapters.  He is Chief of the Anesthesiology and Perioperative Care Service and Associate Chief of Staff for Inpatient Surgical Services at the Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System and is a recipient of the Veteran Health Administration’s John D. Chase Award for Physician Executives Excellence.

 Professor Viren Naik

  Dr. Viren Naik is the Vice President, Education for The Ottawa Hospital and Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Ottawa. He has 20 years experience as an educator, and is now focused on leading interprofessional education initiatives at his hospital to enhance the learning environment and improve the patient experience.  In 2007 and 2013, Dr. Naik received honour awards from the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society for his international contributions to education.  He has served the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada by leading the national written certification examination for the specialty, and is now a Regional Director for their international programs.

Associate Professor Glenn Woodworth


Dr. Woodworth began his medical training in San Diego culminating in finishing his residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.  He currently is the Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship Director, and Associate Professor at Oregon Health and Science University in Portland, OR.  In addition to his clinical duties, Dr. Woodworth is an active education researcher and is particularly interested in the assessment of competency, the effectiveness of different educational methods in medical education, and the use of education technology.


 Australasian Speakers:

 Michael Barrington

 Alwin Chuan

 Chris Mitchell

 Brian Jolly

 Jenny Weller